FAQ
overflow

Great Answers to
Questions About Everything

QUESTION

I would like to clarify two things:

  1. Is it possible to checkmate with only a knight and a king against a lone king?

  2. What will happen in a situation like this?

Does the game have to be drawn due to insufficient material?

{ asked by BlueBerry - vignesh4303 }

ANSWER

If you drive an enemy king into a corner, you still need to control four different squares to checkmate him. Your king can control two of those squares (but cannot approach the enemy king), your knight can control the third, but there is no way of controlling the fourth. That is, it is impossible for the knight to control both the corner square and the one adjacent to the enemy king (the one your own king doesn't control).

So the result would be a draw--insufficient material to win.

{ answered by Tom Au }
Tweet