FAQ
overflow

Great Answers to
Questions About Everything

QUESTION

Consider this objectively drawn position that occurred in the Fischer vs Spassky 1972 match, game 12. Suppose this position occurred in a blitz game where Black barely has few seconds remaining on his clock. Black decides to give up the f5-pawn and instead sit comfortably with his pawns on f6 and h6 as follows-

   [fen "8/5p2/6kp/p4p2/2B5/1P2PK1P/8/4b3 w - - 0 1"]

   1. Kf4 f6. 2. Bd3 Bb4. 3. Bxf5+ Kg7. 

This position is an impenetrable fortress. Because of the presence of bishops of opposite color, there is no way White can check the Black king or even try to win a pawn by attacking it. If White marches up the e-pawn, Black can simply capture. There is no way White can win. Black simply has to keep moving his bishop safely on the a5-e1 diagonal.

Now, since this is a blitz game and Black just has a few seconds left, White simply attempts to run Black out of time just by making legal moves without making any kind of progress. In such a scenario, would Black be allowed to pause the clock and claim a draw?

{ asked by Wes }

ANSWER

No. There is a rule like that for standard time controls (rule 10.2 under FIDE rules), however under blitz rules 10.2 doesn't apply. Appendix B, rule B.3.b:

b. Article 10.2 and Appendix A.4.c do not apply.

In blitz, the clock is just as much a part of the game as the board is. If you have a position like that with seconds left and your opponent has more, you are lost.

{ answered by RemcoGerlich }
Tweet